Deaf = Ditzy? No, But it Sure Makes for Funny Stories!

 

What's that awful noise?????

What's that awful noise?????

 

About a month ago my husband and I were walking down Michigan Avenue in downtown Chicago. This is in what is called “The Gold Coast” because it’s the second most expensive place to live in the nation. We were walking calmly, chatting, avoiding the throngs of people heading to the larger than life Apple store, or the two-story Victoria’s Secret, or whichever sites they wanted to see, when I suddenly heard this awful screeching noise. As we continued walking, the noise became more intense and more annoying. I thought it was an emergency vehicle but there was none around. I stopped, looked around and yelled above the din,

“What’s that noise?” I strained my neck trying to figure out where this racket was coming from! My husband grinned in his lopsided way, turned me around. and pointed to a man sitting on the sidewalk, playing the saxophone  just two feet away from me.

“It’s him, sweetie!”

“Oh,” My brow furrowed and I strained to distinguish the notes and then began to smile. “Ah! Now I get it!” I said to my wonderful husband who just smiled and kissed me.

What he failed to mention (and finally told me tonight) was that the poor man undoubtedly heard my loud exclamation, because the moment I said it, my husband saw the man’s eyes shoot me a WTF? look, but when I turned to him at last, he gave no indication he’d heard me.   

My husband also mentioned that the man had, indeed, been playing very badly. I guess it’s a good thing I’m still hard of hearing with my implant. It saves me from badly-performed music, but then, I just get the noise part of it.

6 Comments

Filed under Deafness and Hearing Loss

6 responses to “Deaf = Ditzy? No, But it Sure Makes for Funny Stories!

  1. dyricci

    Hi Trina!

    Well, there’s something to be thankful for not having your full range of auditory abilities! In Seattle, we have more than our share of street musicians…and very many of them I wish would just stay home and plague their cats with their “gift”!

    My mother works in L.A. as a ASL translator…I can’t remember the name of the organization she works with (CAD maybe)…and splits her time btwn field/social work and in-office admin. Just a tid-bit I thought was interesting…

  2. Oh, really? That’s very cool! I’m trying to teach my husband a little sign language. So far he has “I love you” and “Pee” down pat.

  3. dyricci

    My favorite is “bullsh*t” lol
    Something about me being a Taurus, maybe…and the whole spewing motion out the elbow area really makes me laugh. }:-D

    Oh…and it’s Tri-County GLAD she works for: http://www.tcglad.org/index.htm
    My mom’s the one 2nd frm left…

  4. Ha! I think that one originated in Texas, if I’m correct. Another one that’s easier to do looks like the “rock on” sign, or whatever it’s called. LOL The the forefinger taps against the cheek and the thumb holds down the middle and ring fingers and the pinky is up.

  5. dyricci

    The one I know is where you have your arms in front of you like I Dream of Jeannie, with your right hand doing the “rock on” (as you call it) or devil horns…and your left hand, while under your right elbow, “spews” (or flicks all five fingers) twice into the air.

    Another funny tid-bit about my mom…she was born in Odessa, Tx and lived there until the family moved to Cali about 1960. Weird small world, huh?

  6. Yup, that’s the Texas sign for bullsh!t. With that sign, you might want to blow a raspberry for effect. 😛 LOL.

    Odessa, huh? Very cool. My first husband was from Midland and I’ve visited Odessa a few times. 🙂 In some ways, I miss Texas…I guess it’s a heat thing, especially when it’s 19 degrees outside.

Leave a Reply

